Let’s Begin -Part One – Arellano Genetic Roulette

Hello all!

It’s time to get this challenge properly started! I’m not sure how long it’s gonna be, but strap in nonetheless.  I meant to have this out the day after the setup entry, but after talking with my therapist, I’ve kinda been in a bit of a whirl and been having some emotional ups and downs. So I got buried under research and trying to win my optimism back from the goblin that lives in my head.

Anyway, as you remember, we met Cher and Whit, our lovely foundresses!

Screenshot-313.jpg

First thing, Cher moved the pair to a better lot(or what I thought was a better lot at the time. It’s really just a same-sized lot that was a little more expensive). It’s technically not allowed, but nothing was really gained from doing it so consider it my penance.

Screenshot-314.jpg

Cher: Mommy!!

Stupid me thought that killing them through Mastercontroller would avoid this. Apparently, I was wrong.

Annotation 2019-11-17 162347.png

While Cher was busy crying and moving, Whit had slightly more important things to tend to.

Whit retrieved the graves for the family and got herself a position as a ghost hunter!

Screenshot-316.jpg

Once she’s done sobbing, Cher skips some rocks.

Why?

One: She’s adorable and her stone skipping face is adorable. Two: She was in the way of my building so she had to GTFO.

Screenshot-317.jpg

Do you like the box I built?

Yeah, neither do I.

But all my houses look the same and I tried something different, which came out looking like the final house in my Zane OWBC.

Screenshot-320.jpgScreenshot-319.jpg

Is it big?

Yes.

Is it sparse and hardly furnished?

Also yes.  And I don’t like it, but we’re stuck with it.

Screenshot-321.jpg

The rest of the family is chilling at the back corner of the lot. Just waiting to hunt the bejeesus out of us.

Screenshot-322.jpg

At least Cher’s mourning proves useful for something.

An excuse for Whit to comfort her future wife!

Screenshot-323.jpgScreenshot-324.jpg

And we all know mourning turns to flirting…maybe? Probably not, but in this case it does. We need babies so Whit and Cher need to get to it.

Screenshot-326.jpg

At least until it doesn’t. Cher suddenly turns and no longer wants to flirt.

Annoying.

But because I’m an amazing human slash genius…

Screenshot-327.jpg

I realized Cher just wanted to be the initiating!

Screenshot-328.jpg

With a selfie to commemorate the occasion, things move fast.

Screenshot-329.jpgScreenshot-330.jpgScreenshot-331.jpgScreenshot-332.jpg

Very fast.

Screenshot-334.jpgScreenshot-333.jpgScreenshot-335.jpg

One quick wedding on the beach across from their house and the easy part is over.

Screenshot-336.jpg

To celebrate, Whit splurges and cooks them a homecooked meal.

Screenshot-337.jpg

While her wife works on dinner, Cher starts painting. While Whit is employed, I foresee Cher’s creative endeavors being more lucrative in terms of finances. Whit will keep them alive, but Cher will make them semi-wealthy.

I hope.

Screenshot-339.jpg

Cher: I’m so glad I could be eating yogurt on my wedding night. Real classy.

Whit: You have a new house and wife. Shut up about the yogurt.

Screenshot-341.jpgScreenshot-340.jpg

The next morning, our ladies have to get themselves to City Hall and graduate. I forgot they needed to that and I wasn’t amused.

I was amused by Cher’s bear ear hat.

Annotation 2019-11-18 094940.pngAnnotation 2019-11-18 095003.png

Since both were only teenagers for less than four hours, any positive outcomes were a surprise.

And Whit’s better be accurate. Those rewards points are gonna be a real resource.

Screenshot-343.jpg

Despite all her yogurt gripes, Cher is thrilled to be married. Wait until you start popping out babies. You might change your mind.

Screenshot-344.jpgScreenshot-345.jpg

I took a page out of somebodysangel’s book and got a festival pic of our couple. I’m even toying with the idea of getting one every so often of the kids when they exist.

Annotation 2019-11-18 095731.png

Meanwhile at home, wedding gifts from Cher’s dead parents are delivered and promptly sold.

How and where do dead people shop?

Screenshot-346.jpg

It looks like the ghosts are out and about.

Did you see the counter and sink I bought them with the wedding money?

Screenshot-347.jpg

Cher is none too pleased with her grandfather, Peter, haunting the fridge…

Screenshot-348.jpg

And molting all over the place.

Screenshot-349.jpg

Because of the wedding, Whit got two days off. And since no money’s gonna be coming in, she had to venture to the beach to use their chess table.

Annotation 2019-11-18 103041.png

And an afternoon of skilling nets her a promotion!

Screenshot-350.jpgScreenshot-353.jpgScreenshot-352.jpg

The ghosts come out every night. They’re constantly crawling around the property(and the Frio’s house next door. Is this a glitch? I was pretty forking sure that ghosts couldn’t leave the lot) and haunting the few possessions in the house.

Screenshot-351.jpg

While the ghost will roam…there was gonna be a clever rhyme but I’m sleepy and not gonna do that.

Because they’re not doing great financially, there will be no intentional Arellano babies. However, Cher’s fun and social were low so they got into some Risky Woohoo. If it happens, which it didn’t this time, it happens.

Screenshot-354.jpg

During the day, I remembered my go-to for broke challenge sims. Since Cher is working on her art, Whit is sent to plunge herself headfirst into the dumpster. Plus she’s lucky and hopefully, that’ll net us some choice stuff.

Annotation 2019-11-18 105413.png

Not too shabby.  The dives netted around $2,700 after selling everything. Nothing was deemed worthy of keeping. The tv and bookshelf could have proved useful but it wasn’t wholly necessary.

Screenshot-356.jpg

What was necessary is getting something going in the nursery and a better bathroom. Why the bathroom first of all? I don’t remember.

Screenshot-355.jpgScreenshot-357.jpg

Elsewhere in town, my camera was zoomed in on Emma Hatch burning to death(apparently). She lived, but she and a bunch of others must have been caught in the fire.  They were wandering around town all crispy and burnt.

Screenshot-358.jpg

Meanwhile, Whit heads to her first shift as a ghostbuster.

Screenshot-359.jpg

At one of her work sites, I got distracted.

Whit: But this ghost is super bitey!

But she needs a makeover!

Screenshot-360.jpg

Blap! Better!

Whit: Ow my arm!

I’m gonna save this sim for future use.

Whit: Two rows of teeth?!

Screenshot-361.jpg

Because ghost hunting doesn’t pay very well, Whit goes for another dive into the dumpsters behind the criminal hideout.

Annotation 2019-11-18 112106.png

Not as great a haul as the last series of dives, but still netted $2100.

Screenshot-362.jpgScreenshot-363.jpg

This time the nursery was able to be finished and a tiny upgrade to the kitchen.

Screenshot-364.jpg

With this and Whit now steadily working, it’s time to work on the first baby of the challenge.

It took no time at all for the jingle to chime.

Screenshot-365.jpg

Cher has a rough go of it for her first pregnancy. She constantly has morning sickness and it’s a bit of a pain when she’s trying to churn out paintings.

Screenshot-366.jpg

What?

They’re still broke.

Annotation 2019-11-18 165152.png

Well, that’s helpful.

The megaphone was sold and the art bag was passed off to Cher.

Screenshot-367.jpg

All of the ancestor ghosts are weirdos.

Annotation 2019-11-18 170151.png

Once again, Whit netted another $2700 haul.

Screenshot-368.jpg

The living area finally got upgraded! And Whit gets a chess table so she doesn’t have to wander to the beach!

Screenshot-369.jpg

Baby number one officially incoming!

Screenshot-370.jpg

Our lovely ladies also get a bedroom upgrade.

Screenshot-371.jpg

This is how most of Cher and Whit spend their time. Cher is constantly painting to try and create a nest egg.

Annotation 2019-11-18 173206.png

And thanks to Whit spending a significant amount of time with the chess table, she’s flying through the ranks.

Screenshot-372.jpg

Whit is always adorable, but especially when she’s making faces white ghost hunting.

Screenshot-374

Cher gets a chair.

Not super important, but it’s kind of alliterative, so fun was to be had!

Screenshot-375.jpg

Just more of the same.

Screenshot-377.jpgScreenshot-376.jpg

Cher and Whit, as a couple, are super sweet. I’ve been trying their wants panel clear for high value wants, but these two keep kicking out cute interaction wants.

Screenshot-378.jpg

Whit: Everything is broken and leaking.

Yeah. These two hit a run of unfortunate bathroom breakages. Everything kept breaking.

Screenshot-379.jpg

Good thing Cher’s at home constantly to play Mrs. Fix-It.

Annotation 2019-11-19 105917.png

Another promotion for Whit!

Screenshot-381.jpgScreenshot-382.jpg

It’s time!

Our first baby is inbound!!

Screenshot-383.jpg

Seriously, these ghosts are absolute creeps.

Anyway, our couple is off to have the baby at the hospital. This is the only time for a while. At least until this baby is a teen and can take care of the other kids.

Screenshot-384.jpg

*Drumroll*

Screenshot-385.jpg

It’s a girl!

This is Rosa. I’m not really going for a naming theme this time out so I’m just naming at random. Not that she wasn’t named for an absolute badass! I was watching Brooklyn 99(a brilliantly funny show that makes me happy without fail) when she was born. Thus Rosa is named for Rosa Diaz! This might happen a lot, but there is no strict theme.

One thing about Rosa’s appearance we get right off the bat is that she has Whit’s tone on, what I’m guessing, Cher’s place on the slider.

Annotation 2019-11-19 110818.png

As you can see, Rosa rolled Grumpy and Friendly!

Screenshot-386.jpg

Callie Arellano, Cher’s great-grandmother, is the first ghost to see Rosa.

Screenshot-387.jpg

As a celebration, and to calm my anxiety, a little of what savings they had was used to buy Whit a Chemistry table. With the baby-making underway, the aging alarm is going off in my brain. Two birds, one stone. Whit can use the table to keep leveling her logic while heading towards young again potions. 

And that’s it for now! From here on out, the update lengths shouldn’t be this long…I think. I’m trying to keep this challenge under 20 parts, ideally 15. One for each birth and the setup.

I’m just really glad I got this done. I’ll see you later buddies ❤

One Comment Add yours

  1. Ooh, dumpster diving is a great idea for the founders. And naw, thanks for the props on the greeting cards. I’m so addicted to them, it’s such a great way to show the passage of time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment